I always wanted to be a teacher.

I felt like it was something I was called to do. So when I graduated high school, I went straight to working in a school. I worked with special needs children. Yes, they all had their difficulties. Yes, they all had their challenges. But it was such a rewarding position when something just clicked and they reached a milestone or one of their goals on their IEPs were mastered.

Each of those children held a special place in my heart.

Long story short, after attending college and then getting married, my husband Brandon and I decided that we wanted to start a family of our own. In May of 2012, we found out that we were expecting the start of that family.

As much as I wanted to be a teacher, I wanted to be a stay-at-home mom more.  Brandon and I went through the numbers and figured out that, though money would be very tight, we were blessed enough with the ability for me to stay home. I went back to work at the school until December. It was very hard to leave the schools, especially where I was at this point, because I had a wonderful position that was perfect for me. I was working in the school library and teaching technology classes. As hard as it was to leave, I was extremely excited to start this next chapter of my life.

In February 2013 our little boy, Asher, was born. Little did we know at the time how much of a gift from God he really is.

He was always a good baby. Apart from the little stuff like hating car rides, struggling to nurse, and the occasional sleep regression he was a pretty easy-going, fun little guy. Around his first birthday we started to notice some things that were just different about him.

By around 14 months old, we started noticing that he knew his colors, shapes, and some letters. We shrugged it off thinking this was just normal. His brain is just a sponge, soaking up everything he hears and he just remembers it. By 16 months he knew all the letters, uppercase and lower case. By 18 months he started potty training and was fully daytime trained by 20 months. More and more things started happening and they seemed to be happening quite earlier than we expected.

It wasn’t until he started reading at 2.5 years old that the “g” word started entering our minds. Could he be? 

We haven’t had him officially tested yet since he is only 4, but there is no doubt in our minds that he is gifted. After trying preschool for a year, he was bored. We decided to homeschool him. Now, at 4, he is entering 1st grade curriculum with the possibility of moving up to 2nd grade math within a few months.

Life with a gifted child is…all kinds of things. It’s fun. It’s amazing. It’s a blessing. It’s also challenging. It’s exhausting. It’s not all a walk in the park.

This blog will discuss what it’s like raising a gifted child. I will talk about all the things listed above and why it is all of those things. I will discuss some challenges. I will write about some fun things we get to do. Most of all though, I hope to educate the general public about gifted children and the many qualities of them and to help others understand them better.

I mentioned that I always wanted to be a teacher and that special needs children had a special place in my heart. Never would I have imagined that I would have my own special needs child and I would get to be his teacher too.

God, I hear you…and I get it. You were preparing me for this ride for my entire life! Thank you for giving me the gift of a gifted child!

One thought on “Teacher Mommy

Leave a Reply

